Saturday, June 13, 2009

The X-Men Serial Pictures

The X-Men Serial Pictures
The X-Men are a superhero team in the Marvel Comics Universe. They were created by writer Stan Lee and artist Jack Kirby, and first appeared in The X-Men #1 (September 1963). Under a cloud of increasing anti-mutant sentiment, Professor Xavier creates a haven at his Westchester mansion to train young mutant s to use their powers for the benefit of humanity, and to prove mutants can be heroes. Xavier recruited Cyclops, Iceman, Angel, Beast and Jean Grey calling them "X-Men" because they possessed X-tra power due to their possession of the "X-Gene", a gene normal humans lacked and gives Mutants their abilities. Though the X-Men started off with just five members, as years went on many characters joined the team and just as many left; Cyclops is the only one to have had a solid seating in the series. Storm and Jean Grey also are main characters within the group.

Early issues introduced the team's arch enemy, Magneto and his Brotherhood of Mutants, who would later battle the X-Men for years. Although the X-Men series had been composed entirely of WASP-type characters, it would later become the pilot Marvel series to have the most number of characters that were ethnically and religiously varied.

The X-Men comics have been adapted in other media, including animated television series, video games, and a successful series of films.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.

Related Posts with Thumbnails